COVID-19 Announcement - Updated 25 January 2021

Due to ongoing restrictions we are left with no choice but to cancel our holidays and day trips until the end of March 2021. We will continue to monitor the situation and remain positive for 2021 getting back to some kind of normal soon.

We will cancel off the bookings and be in touch with all affected clients over the next 14 days regarding transfers and / or refunds.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for your continued support as we follow the guidance and then we can get off on plenty of holidays.

We are not alone and we are all in this together, we have done it before and can do it again

Acklams are ready for 2021 and ready to welcome you back

As from 10 September 2008, the DSA has implemented the latest regulation from the EU regarding driver training for PCV drivers. It is called the Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC), which will affect bus, coach and minibus drivers.

Under the new system, there are four modules:

Module 1:

  • Theory test 85/100
  • Hazard perception test 67/100

Module 2 (New):

  • Case studies 38/50

This is a new element to the theory test. The driver is given case studies to read and then has to answer questions relating to the passage just read. In other words...another theory test. Fairly simple and straightforward.

Module 3:

  • The practical drive. No change.

Module 4 (New):

  • Practical demonstration test.

An enhanced 'tell me show me' questions with the examiner and vehicle.